Give Marquette

Marquette University Alumni Association

J. William and Mary Diederich College of Communication Award Recipients

Communicator of the Year Award

Len KasperLen J. Kasper, Comm ’93
Glencoe, Ill.

For the past 12 years, Len has delivered the action of Chicago Cubs baseball from Wrigley Field to the homes of fans around the world, saying his ability to adapt to the dynamic media environment allowed him to achieve his lifelong goal.

By-Line Award

Michael HiestandMichael C. Hiestand, Jour ’87
Ferndale, Wash.

When it comes to student journalists, Mike will use any means necessary to protect their work. Case in point: being named a “Holy Fool,” what author Joseph Campbell calls people who are willing to say whatever needs to be said, no matter what, to make a difference.

Professional Achievement Award

Katherine BurgessKatherine Kuehl Burgess, Comm ’91
Green Bay, Wis.

As Kate describes it, CEO on her business card at Elevate97 means chief elevating officer, which she works tirelessly to do, regardless of whether it’s to benefit clients or her community.

James T. Tiedge Memorial Award

Brian WenselBrian C. Wensel, Bus Ad ’81
Simi Valley, Calif.

Brian has made his mark during 35 years of entertainment industry work without spending any time on screen, these days working as senior vice president of production finance for Legendary Entertainment.