Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has fiduciary responsibility and is the principal governance authority for Marquette University. The board is responsible for preserving and enhancing Marquette’s mission and ensuring that long-term planning and goals are defined and executed by the university community.

Marquette’s bylaws stipulate that the Board of Trustees be comprised of no fewer than 25 and no more than 40 members, of whom no fewer than five and no more than eight must be members of the Society of Jesus. The university’s president serves ex-officio as a member of the board. The board is self-perpetuating, meaning that trustees are responsible for electing new members. Trustees serve for three-year terms and may be re-elected to serve for a maximum of 12 years. Trustees are volunteers and are not compensated for their service.

The board may elect any retired or retiring trustee to be a trustee emeritus or trustee emerita for life. Trustees emeriti do not attend meetings of the board.

The board holds in trust Marquette’s human, physical, and financial assets for future generations. The trustees are stewards of Marquette’s Catholic and Jesuit identity. They establish policies on university strategy, financial management, fundraising, investments, property and assets. The board is responsible for hiring and evaluating the university’s president. The day-to-day administration of Marquette is the responsibility of the university president and his leadership team.

Mr. Todd Adams Mr. Todd Adams
Chair of the Marquette Board
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Zurn Elkay Water Solutions

Mr. Harvey J. Anderson II Mr. Harvey J. Anderson II
Eng ’84
Retired Strategic Advisor
HP Inc.

Ms. Joanna M. Bauza Ms. Joanna M. Bauza
Bus Ad '97
The Cervantes Group

Mr. Tim M. Bergstrom Mr. Tim M. Bergstrom
Bus Ad '99
President and Chief Executive Officer
Bergstrom Automotive

Mr. Rick T. Dillon Mr. Rick T. Dillon
Bus Ad '93
Senior Vice President and
Chief Financial Officer
Aramark Uniform Services

Mr. Steven Frieder Mr. Steven Frieder
Corporate Secretary

Hon. Janine P. Geske Hon. Janine P. Geske
Law ’75
Retired Professor of Law and
Retired Justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court

Ms. Nancy Hernandez Ms. Nancy Hernandez
Grad ’02
Hispanic Collaborative

Mr. Patrick S. Lawton Mr. Patrick S. Lawton
Bus Ad ’78, Grad ’80
Managing Director of
Fixed Income Capital Markets
Robert W. Baird & Co.

Rev. Brian F. Linnane, S.J. Rev. Brian F. Linnane, S.J.
President Emeritus
Loyola University Maryland

Dr. Michael R. Lovell Dr. Michael R. Lovell
Marquette University

Mr. Raymond J. Manista Mr. Raymond J. Manista
Vice Chair of the Marquette Board
Arts ’87, Law ’90
Executive Vice President — Chief Legal Officer, Chief Compliance Officer and Secretary
Northwestern Mutual

Rev. Patrick McGrath, S.J. Rev. Patrick McGrath, S.J.
Old St. Patrick's Parish

Ms. Nicole K. Michaels Ms. Nicole K. Michaels
Bus Ad ’93
Global Insurance Business Transformation Leader
Ernst & Young

Mr. Micky S. Minhas Mr. Micky S. Minhas
Eng ’89
Senior Vice President
Marconi Group

Rev. Thomas W. Neitzke, S.J. Rev. Thomas W. Neitzke, S.J.
Dean of Arrupe College and Vice President and Special Assistant to the President
Loyola University Chicago

Dr. Janis M. Orlowski Dr. Janis M. Orlowski
Eng '78
Retired Chief Health Care Officer
Association of American Medical Colleges

Rev. Michael Rozier, S.J. Rev. Michael Rozier, S.J.
Associate Professor of
Health Management and Policy
Saint Louis University

Mr. James P. Ryan Mr. James P. Ryan
Arts ’89
President and Chief Executive Officer

Rev. Nicholas Santos, S.J. Rev. Nicholas Santos, S.J.
Associate Professor of Marketing
and Rector of the Jesuit Community
Creighton University

Ms. Amy Ford Souders Ms. Amy Ford Souders
Arts '92
Principal and Director
Cornerstone Government Affairs

Mr. William R. Stemper Mr. William R. Stemper
Eng '77
Comcast Business

Mr. Owen J. Sullivan Mr. Owen J. Sullivan
Arts ’79
President and Chief Operating Officer
NCR Corporation

Mr. Christopher J. Swift Mr. Christopher J. Swift
Bus Ad '83
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
The Hartford

Mr. Joseph A. Walicki Mr. Joseph A. Walicki
Retired Chief Executive Officer and
Vice Chairman

Mr. Thomas H. Werner Mr. Thomas H. Werner
Eng '86
Chairman of the Board
H2U Technologies

Ms. Chris Woleske Ms. Chris Woleske

Law '94
President and CEO
Bellin Health

Hon. James A. Wynn, Jr. Hon. James A. Wynn, Jr.
Law '79
Federal Appeals Court Judge
US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

Rev. Michael A. Zampelli, S.J. Rev. Michael A. Zampelli, S.J.
Associate Professor of Theatre
Fordham University