Give Marquette

Marquette University Alumni Association

Law School Award Recipients

Alumna of the Year Award

Diane SykesHon. Diane Sykes, Law ’84
Mequon, Wis.

For Diane, a career spanning nearly 25 years of public service from the bench can be traced back to her 1L Torts class with Professor James Ghiardi.

Lifetime Achievement Award

L. William StaudenmaierMary StaudenmaierL. William Staudenmaier, Bus Ad ’58, Law ’61 and Mary L. Staudenmaier, Law '71
Wauwatosa, Wis. and Marinette, Wis.

Mary and Bill's father, Louis graduated from Marquette Law School in 1933, at the height of the Great Depression. After following his path as a Law School graduate herself, his daughter Mary, started a scholarship in his honor.

Howard B. Eisenberg Service Award

Bernard WestfahlBernard J. Westfahl, Jr., Bus Ad ’01, Law ’04
Fox Point, Wis.

As a child, B.J. was impressed by some of the perks his father and grandfather enjoyed as lawyers: working in a tall building and going out to lunch. Today, he can see even more of the rewards of a life in the law.

Charles W. Mentkowski Sports Law Alumnus of the Year Award

Brent MobergBrent C. Moberg, Grad ’04, Law ’04
South Bend, Ind.

As a medical student no longer convinced that he wanted to become a doctor, Brent turned to Marquette to find a new career path. Today, he is director of compliance at the University of Notre Dame.